Wines to try in 2008

I sent the following list of wines for my sister to pick up as a gift for my other sister.  I figured I'd just post these for reference.  I've been hunting them down myself, since I hadn't tried some, and I'll be writing reviews as I do.  The asterisk indicated to my sis that I've tried it and liked it.  After recently acquiring a subscription to Wine Spectator, I used the three issues they sent to me within about 2 weeks to discover some of these.

Whites
*A to Z Pinot Gris 2006 ($14)
*A to Z Chardonnay 2006 ($16)
Gloria Ferrer Blanc de Noirs Sonoma County NV (non-vintage)
*L'Ecole No. 41 Semillon Columbia Vally 2005 ($15)
Drylands Sauvingnon Blanc Marlborough 2006 ($13)

Reds
*Falesco Sangiovese Umbria 2006 ($14)
Fontanafredda Barbera Piemonte Briccotondo 2006 ($13)
*Bedegas Borsao Garnacha Campo de Borja Tres Picos 2005 ($12)
*Columbia Crest Merlot Columbia Valley Grand Estates 2004 ($11)
Yellow Tail Shiraz South Eastern Australia The Reserve 2005 ($11)
Terredora Falanghina Irpinia 2005 ($14)
Thorn-Carke Terra Barossa Cuvee Barossa 2005 ($13)

Belle Vallee Pinot Noir Willamette Valley 2005 ($22)
*Owen Roe's Sharecropper Pinot Noir 2006 ($22)

Lastly, I got to try the Miura Pinot Noir the other day…I think it was the 2001, pretty aged for a domestic Pinot…really great dark stone fruit nose and opened up over the meal.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About ashleyroach

This is purely the work of the author, it is not affiliated with my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

