Denver election queuing theory

Watching the pundits on TV, but no observations that the real issue in Denver was a queuing theory problem. When I voted today, there were 30 ballot boxes, but only 4 or 5 voter identification stations — took me an hour to get to the ballot box. Since every voter was required to pass through the ID stations, that was the limiting factor.

All the talk that Hickenlooper is going to take a hit for this is dumb, but at the same time, he should instruct the Denver Election Commission on queuing theory.

Perhaps in another post, I'll see if I can figure out how many voter ID stations they really needed.

Other references:

Queuing formulas

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About ashleyroach

This is purely the work of the author, it is not affiliated with my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Denver election queuing theory

  1. I'd like to see the promised follow up to this post… all of this talk of wine is just making me thirsty.

  2. Ashley says:

    Ben, please wander off and drink some wine. I think the bottom line is that they probably needed more voter ID stations. They should just look at all the fast casual restaurants (or maybe just hire them as consultants) to figure out how to move lines *really* quickly.

  3. Tracy says:

    I voted in Arapahoe County where we have assigned voting places. When I first learned about the changes in Denver's voting places, I thought it was good. There would be no more running home to vote. It would be easier to vote wherever you are close to. Well, I have changed my tune about that. Denver should go back to polling places even if you have to rush home to vote.
    Denver needs to change their voting procedures for the 2008 elections. There is too much to risk.

Leave a Reply

